17 November 2015, 16:55

National Day

government , event , National Day

National Day of United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates was formed on December 2, 1971, when the UK's treaty expired and the separate sheikdoms decided to form a Union. At first the UAE was a federation of six emirates- Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Umm Al Quwain, Sharjah, Fujairah and Ajman. The emirate of Ras Al Khaimah was added a year later to the UAE. To celebrate the UAE’s 44th National Day, the Government of Abu Dhabi has planned a number of activities throughout the week. 

Abu Dhabi comes alive this National Day with a choice of interesting activities, fantastic firework shows, captivating concerts, dazzling displays and heritage attractions, running across the Emirate. The festivities mark the country’s union over four decades ago and celebrate the spirit of the union. 

Some of the exciting free-to-attend activities include concerts by top Khaleeji performers across the Emirate, competitions, sailing regattas, art festivals and theatrical shows.